Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Sales Tax: Updating Past Invoices

Looking to update past invoices to reflect new tax settings? You’re in the right place! There are a couple of steps you’ll need to take before you’ll see the change reflected on those past invoices.

Note📝: If you need to delete the Sales Tax altogether, check out our Deleting a Sales Tax guide that walks through the steps in detail for each offering.

The process looks a little different depending on the type of invoice, so let’s break this down together!


Appointment Invoices

For any appointment invoices that have payments attached to them, you’ll first want to unapply the payment. Once the payment is unapplied, you’ll receive an orange notice letting you know a change was made under the Billing Settings.

You can click on the orange Update Invoices button to apply those changes.

screenshot of orange update invoices button

Jane will remove the tax line and create a new version of the invoices. From here, you can apply the payment back to the invoices and a credit for the taxed amount should be remaining on their profile. You can either apply the credit to another invoice or issue a refund to the patient.

Here’s a guide that walks through Applying a Patient Credit to a Specific Invoice that walks through the process in more detail.


Product Invoices

For this type of purchase, you’ll want to start by Unapplying the Payment. Once that is complete, you’ll see an orange notice prompting you to Update Invoices.

screenshot of the orange notice and a button to update invoices

Note📍: If you’re not able to see the Update Invoices option, you’ll want to click on the black dropdown arrow to the right of the word View under the Billing tab. You’ll want to select Delete Purchase from the menu options. With the old invoice deleted, you can re-sell the product to the patient again.

screenshot of navigation

With the invoice updated, you can reapply the payment to it. After clicking on the word View, you can click on the blue Pay button in the top right corner. On the last payment screen, you should see the credit as the payment method.

screenshot of the last receive payment screen with the credit as the payment method

After the credit is applied, the patient should have a credit for the tax amount if the taxes were removed from the offering. This credit can be refunded to the original payment method or applied to another invoice.

Here are some guides that may come in handy with managing the credit and possibly issuing a refund to the patient:


Package Invoices

We know you might want to update the sales tax for packages you’ve already sold. When you update the overall settings for a package, the Update Package option is specifically for changes to the package’s name, quantity, income category, auto selection, or eligible items.

To update the tax on for those past invoices, you’ll need to follow a couple of extra steps to recreate the package sale without taxes attached. Don’t worry; we’re here to guide you through the process so this change goes smoothly.

The first step would be to remove the package from any appointments it’s attached to. To do this, you can head over to the Patient’s Profile, click on Appointments and select an appointment.

screenshot of appointments tab within a patient's profile

Within the Appointment Panel, you’ll first want to click the Arrived button to unarrive the appointment. Now you can scroll down and click on the blue X to remove the package from the appointment.

screenshot of the appointment panel scrolled down to the billing info section

Once the package is removed from all the visits, head back to their Profile, click on the Billing tab, Payments and unapply the payment from the package invoice. For more details on this process, you can head over to our Unapplying a Payment guide.

We’re in the homestretch!

With the payment removed, you can head to the Billing tab within the Profile and then to Purchases. Click on the dropdown arrow to the right of the word View and select Delete Purchase from the menu options.

screenshot of the patient's billing tab, the dropdown arrow to the right of view and Delete Purchase

With the invoice deleted, we can go ahead and re-sell the package to the patient.

For a refresher on Packages and applying a patient credit, check out these handy guide docs


Updating Membership Invoices

Taxes for memberships work a bit differently than they do for other types of billing in Jane. The tax on the cost of the membership for the entire duration of the membership is displayed on the initial membership sale, but won’t appear on a separate line on the membership invoices.

When you sell the membership, the total tax is displayed here:

screenshot of where the tac appears when the membership is initially sold

If you’re looking for the taxes added on to a membership after it’s been sold, you can head over to the Billing tab within the Profile and then Packages & Memberships. From there, click on the View button to the right of the membership and you’ll see the total value of the Membership including the tax here:

screenshot of where the tax appears on the membership page within the patient profile

Back to removing that tax!

The first step would be to remove the package from any appointments it’s attached to. To do this, you’ll want to head over to the Patient’s Profile, click on Appointments and select an appointment.

screenshot of navigation to the appointment tab from the patient profile

Next, within the Appointment Panel, click on the blue X to remove the membership from the appointment.

screenshot of the appointment panel, scrolled down tot he billing info section

Once the membership is removed from all the visits, you’ll head back over to their Profile, click on Billing and then on Payments and unapply the payment from the membership invoices. For more details on this process, you can head over to our Unapplying a Payment guide.

NOTE📍: Once the payment is unapplied from the Membership invoice, there isn’t a direct way for the clinic to delete this invoice. However, the listed Account Owner can reach out to our support team via [email protected] and we’ll be happy to delete this invoice on their behalf. Once the invoices are deleted, you’ll be able to re-sell the membership to the patient.


Here are some guides that may come in handy with managing memberships and possibly issuing a refund to the patient:

Phew - that was a lot, but we hope this guide was helpful to you! As always, if you have any additional questions, feel free to contact our support team and we’d be happy to help!

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.