Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Treatment Plans

Welcome to our guide on Treatment Plans. This feature helps you organize your chart entries and track the number of appointments for a patient’s specific concern.

❗️ This feature is only available for use on Jane’s Insurance Plan. If you’re currently on the Base Plan and would like to learn more about the Insurance Plan and all it offers, feel free to book a demo, selecting Jane Insurance Plan as a focus for the demo!

We’re working to add more to this feature in the future and would love to hear your feedback as we continue to develop it.

Feel free to jump to a specific section below:

Create a Treatment Plan

Start by heading to a patient’s charting area, either from the Day view or from their profile. Next, you’ll click the New Treatment Plan button to the right:

Next, you can fill in the Treatment Plan Name which is the only required field. You can add up to three diagnosis codes.

You can also suggest a visit count so when you add a chart to the plan that’s linked to an appointment, Jane will keep track of how many times the patient has come in for this particular issue. On that note, we recommend making one treatment plan per discipline-specific concern. So for example, if a patient is recovering from a car accident and seeing multiple different practitioners at the clinic for different injuries stemming from that accident, they would have separate treatment plans for each injury. This helps you keep track of the number of treatments and the progress for each issue.

Lastly, click Create Treatment Plan. Voila! You’ve just opened your first plan in Jane.

📣 Please note that any practitioner with access to the patient’s profile will be able to see the Treatment Plan including the author’s name, Treatment Plan Name, diagnosis codes, date the plan was created, and how many appointments and charts are attached. However, practitioners will not be able to view charts they don’t have access to.

In the example below, we’re logged in as the Demo Owner and viewing patient #90’s charting area. We can see there’s a Treatment Plan that Dr. Marcus created, and we can see the Treatment Plan Name, diagnosis codes, and how many charts and appointments are attached to the plan. We can see one chart by Dr. Maya, but we can’t view the second chart as we don’t have access to it.

Add and Remove Charts From a Treatment Plan

Creating a new chart from within the Treatment Plan

If you are creating a new chart entry that you’d like to add to a patient’s Treatment Plan, you can start by clicking the Actions dropdown next to the plan and then selecting New Entry:

Next, you can start selecting chart parts or use one of your chart templates:

Once you’ve completed the chart entry, you can sign and lock it as usual. All done!

Adding an existing chart to a Treatment Plan

If you have an existing chart entry you’d like to add to a Treatment Plan, you can click the down arrow next to a chart and select move to plan.

If the patient only has one open Treatment Plan, then the chart will automatically be assigned to that plan. If there are multiple open Treatment Plans, you can select which one the chart gets assigned to.

Removing a chart from a Treatment Plan

To remove a chart from a treatment plan, you can head to the patient’s charting area and click on the Treatment Plan. Next, click the down arrow next to the chart author and select Remove from plan.

Edit, Close, Delete, or Export a Treatment Plan

When you need to make an update to the plan as your patient progresses, or if their issue has been resolved, click the Actions button and select:

  • Edit Plan if you would like to update the diagnosis or number of suggested visits.
  • Close Plan if you wish to change the status of the plan.
  • Delete Plan if it was created by accident. First you’ll need to remove any chart entries in the plan by clicking the down arrow next to the chart and selecting Remove from plan
  • Export/Print if you need to export the chart entries in the plan

FAQ

Who can view a Treatment Plan?

Any staff member with access to a patient’s profile can view that patient’s Treatment Plans including the author’s name, plan name, diagnosis code, date the plan was created, and how many appointments and charts are attached. However, practitioners will not be able to view charts in the plan that they don’t have access to.

Who can add or remove a chart from a Treatment Plan?

Any staff member with access to billing can add or remove charts that they have permission to view from a Treatment Plan.

What’s the difference between closing and deleting a Treatment Plan?

Deleting a plan removes it completely from the patient’s charting area. A plan needs to have all charts removed before being deleted and you’d only want to delete a plan that was created by accident. Closing a plan means that the plan is completed and chart entries cannot be added to it. However, the plan is still available to be exported, viewed, and reopened.

Who can delete, close, or edit a Treatment Plan?

Only the author of the treatment can close, edit, or delete it.

Who can Export a Treatment Plan?

Any staff member with access to view charts and access to billing in their staff permissions can export a treatment plan. If there are charts within the plan that they don’t have permission to view, those will not be included in the export.

I’m on the insurance plan, so why don’t I don’t see the Create Treatment Plans button?

Currently, you won’t have access to Treatment Plans if you don’t have billing permissions enabled on your profile. A quick way to check is whether or not you see a tab called Billing on the top blue bar of your Jane Account.

This is because Treatment Plans uses Jane’s built in ICD-10 codes that are currently linked to billing permissions. However, we’re working on this and will provide you with an update on improved access soon.

Can more than 1 diagnosis be added to the plan?

Yes, you can add up to three diagnosis codes to a treatment plan. The first code you add will be the primary.

While you can add multiple diagnosis codes, we recommend that you stick with one treatment plan per discipline-specific concern. So for example, if a patient is recovering from a car accident and seeing multiple different practitioners at the clinic for different injuries stemming from that accident, they would have separate treatment plans for each injury. This helps you keep track of the number of treatments and the progress for each issue.

Can someone create their own coding system?

Yes, you can create custom billing codes in Jane, which allows the clinic to set up their own ICD-10 labels.

Can I change the diagnosis part way through the plan?

Yes, the author of the Treatment Plan can edit it at any time and change the diagnosis.

Can I re-open a plan?

Yes, closed plans can be re-opened so that more entries may be added.

Can you add a chart entry to a closed plan?

No, plans can be re-opened first so that a chart entry may be added.

Does a chart entry need to be associated with an appointment to be added to a plan?

No, however, the appointment will only be counted in the plan if the appointment is arrived and linked with the chart entry. If there isn’t an appointment connected to the chart entry, Jane will not include the appointment in the count. This is why you may sometimes see a higher chart count than the number of appointments tallied. For a refresher on how to attach a chart to an appointment, check out the last section of this guide.

Does Jane count every appointment state?

No, Jane is specifically looking at arrived (attended) appointments. Jane is also looking to ensure that multiple chart entries that are attached to the same appointment aren’t counted as multiple visits on the appointment counter.

How do we organize the charts within the plan?

The chart entries will continue to follow the same order as we are used to. Starred chart entries will appear at the top of the list followed by the remaining ones from most newest to oldest.

Is there a report that can be run to review active patients?

We don’t currently have a report but this is something we’re working on. Here is the feature request you can follow along with.

Is there a way to move multiple chart entries into a plan?

Not at this time, but we’d like to hear your feedback if this is something that would be helpful for you.

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.