Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Booking a Break, Vacation and Holidays on your Schedule

Well, I guess you can’t work all the time!

If you need to block off time on your schedule, diary, or calendar, there are 2 ways to do this:

1. Using Breaks

You can use the Break feature to block out time in your staff calendar. This is a quick option for scheduling a day off or blocking off parts of your day.

Some common uses for Breaks include:

  • Reserving spots for your patients without making an appointment booking (maybe the patient needs to double-check availability on their end)
  • Blocking off your lunch breaks
  • Booking non-billable meetings like staff meetings
  • Booking vacation time

The list goes on!

2. Removing Shifts

You can remove shifts from an individual (or multiple practitioners) schedule using the Manage Shifts feature. This option is great if you need to book staff members’ holidays or vacations.

Here’s what each option looks like in the admin schedule:

Here’s what each option looks like in your online booking site:

We’ll review both options in this guide! Let’s dive in.

Information about Breaks

When a break is on your schedule, it will appear as “Booked” in online booking. Notes on the break are only visible in the administrative side of Jane (so they will not be visible in online booking).

For booking breaks on a smartphone, mobile device or any small screens, review this page and then see this guide doc instead.

Booking a Break

Click and release the “Break” button at the bottom left of the schedule. It will turn blue when it’s activated.

Then, click where you want the break to start. Just clicking once will open up a “New Break” panel on the right where you can set the “end time”, or you can click and then drag on the schedule (as if you’re highlighting text) to create the length of the break in one go. It’s okay if it’s not perfect as you’ll have a chance to edit the start and end time when you release the drag.

This is what the break looks like on the schedule:

You’ll also get a break edit screen to the right. Here you can adjust the start and end time using the drop downs, add a note so that there’s more info about the break, and choose whether it’s a repeating break or just a single break.

If you’re seeing this on the schedule, it means that you haven’t successfully activated the break button, and you’re still working with appointments:

Breaks on the Schedule

You can use breaks in a few different ways:

A Floating Lunch Break

While a consistent break is best managed by booking multiple shifts, if you have a lunch break that might move based on when your patients want to come in, you could use a break. These breaks can be dragged to reschedule them much like appointments.

You’re still also able to use breaks if you’d like to label your lunch breaks on your schedule, if you prefer!

Block off Part of the Day

Sometimes you want the afternoon to book up first before the morning is opened up. Here’s how that might look:

Or you’re going to the dentist:

Holidays and Vacation Time

If you or your staff are taking time off, or going on vacation and holiday, you can use the break to cover the entire shift. This is a great option for all staff with access to your schedule to know why the shift isn’t available to be booked. You can also add notes, such as who might be covering that shift or that the staff member is way of vacation.

Administrative Notes & Meetings

The final reason we sometimes use Breaks in Jane is to remind staff or practitioners of administrative tasks that need to be performed. For example, if you have a team meeting coming up, staff can pop a break into their schedule to prevent any patient or client bookings.

Then, when that staff member logs in for their day it would look like this:

This workflow can also be used if the clinic has non-billable meetings they’d like to block off time for, like staff meetings, interviewing new staff, or setting aside some time to call Jane if the clinic needs a hand with something 😉

Deleting a Break

To delete a break on the schedule, click on it and then you will get an option to update or delete the break. Jane will find any other break with the same start and end time and treat them as a group. Note - you may not have created the break as a series, but Jane will look for others that are similar

Then you can delete or change just that one break or all of the ones listed.

Well. These breaks play a lot of roles! I hope you find this helpful, and if you do have further questions feel free to get in touch.


Use Manage Shifts to schedule staff holidays, quickly

Jane has another way for you to quickly schedule staff holidays using the Manage Shift feature. Take a peek at the two scenarios below to choose the one that applies to you!

I’d like to remove multiple shifts from one practitioner’s schedule.

In this case, Jane’s Manage Shifts tool will get the job done faster.

Important first step: Select your staff member within your schedule view first.

Open up your Manage Shifts tool, set the date range to the exact dates you’d like removed, then be sure that there are no shifts populating to the left of your Manage Shifts window. If there are, simply click the X to remove them.

Here’s a fresh example after having removed all of my shifts to the left so that Zoey can go on holiday between December 25th and January 1st.

I’d like to override multiple shifts from multiple practitioners’ schedules.

Important first step: Hover your mouse over each staff member’s name in your schedule view whose shifts you’d like to override, and click the “+” to the right to select multiple staff members.

Now, with the Manage Shifts window open, you can select your date range in which you’d like your shift schedules removed, select your staff members from your staff list, and remove any shifts to the left. If your shift schedule is empty, then Jane will know to remove all existing shifts within the date range you’ve chosen.

💡 Note: Being the overprotective parents that we are, Jane would like to remind your clinic to be extra careful when selecting the date range here. Any shifts within this range will be removed so long as your shift schedule is empty.

In this example below, I am removing ALL EXISTING SHIFTS for Amy, Jonathan, and Zoey between December 25th and January 1st.

🔴 Warning: If you see no Shifts populated to the left of your Manage Shifts window, and you proceed by clicking “Apply Shift Schedule”, then you are overriding your existing schedule by removing all existing shifts between this date range.

Jane will open a pop-up box that says, “Please note: if you already have shifts created, continuing will override those shifts”.

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.