This guide is going to walk through how to turn online booking on across the clinic and some options for this overall clinic setting.
- How to Turn on Online Booking
- Verify New Users
- Online Booking Payment Policy
- Booking, Cancelling, & Relationships
A Full Access user can head over to the Settings tab and then click on Online Booking. From there, they can set the online booking policy to Online Booking Allowed.
Scrolling down a bit further on the page, you can further customize what is offered online such as the location, specific discipline, staff member or treatment.
NOTE📍: This area is for setting up your clinic-wide preferences, but they can be overridden in individual client profiles. Check out our guide on Online Booking: Choosing what is Offered Online that further breaks those options down.
With Online Booking set to allowed, your availability will be displayed and bookable to anyone who heads over to your Jane booking page.
With Online Booking set to disabled, this requires that the client or patient signs in before they can access your client-facing Jane page.
There’s sort of a middle option where you can screen clients for online booking access. Handy if you only want clients that you want to have access to online booking. You can see how to set that up on this help page about Only Allowing Approved Online Booking.
You can ask us to turn this on for you if you want clients to do the two-step authentication process before they can book online.
That means that they will be asked to enter a mobile verification code or click on a link in an email to verify that they are giving you real contact info that belongs to them. This can be handy if you’ve had trouble with deviant booking, but can also slow down the process for clients booking online.
If you want this turned on, just send us a note from the Need Help? area in the top right corner of your account.
The next section is available and will only show up for you if you are using Jane Payments.
For online booking policies, you have a few options:
- Have your clients pay in full when booking their treatment
- Have your clients pay a deposit/portion of the treatment
- Store a credit card on file, with no payments taken
When a client puts a card on file, they will not be able to remove it after booking, since that would be against your clinic’s payment policy!
You can also have a different policy for just their First Visit to your clinic. Use the same policy or choose any of the other options to apply differently just to this first appointment.
Here’s what it looks like if you’re requesting a card on file that will not be charged:
In Jane, the “Booking, Cancelling, & Relationships” section allows you to customize various aspects of your online booking system.
Allow Same Day Booking: If checked, patients can book appointments for the same day online. If unchecked, same-day appointments can only be booked by the clinic staff.
Do Not Allow Booking Within: This setting determines how far in advance patients can book their appointments. For example, if set to 24 hours, patients can only book at least 24 hours before the appointment time.
Show Openings Within Unallowed Period as ‘Contact to Book’: If checked, time slots within the “Do Not Allow Booking Within” period will still be visible to patients, but they will be prompted to contact the clinic to book.
Allow Cancellations Online: If checked, patients can cancel or delete their appointments online. If unchecked, patients must contact the clinic to cancel.
Late Cancellation Period: This setting determines how far in advance patients must cancel their appointments to avoid being considered a “late cancellation”.
Allow Patients to Add Related Profiles: If checked, patients can add related profiles (e.g., family members) to their account.
Don’t forget to Save after editing these settings.
As always let us know if you need any help, or would like more information about how these settings work! We’re just a few clicks away using the “Need Help?” option in your Jane account.