Note - If you have created two patients, and you thought: “Oh, I will just delete one.” WAIT! Hold that thought! Let me direct you to our Guide Document on Merging Patients.
Deleting a Patient
You will only be able to delete a patient if they have no data attached to their name i.e. appointments, charts, billing or history.
Jane will give you a heads up when deleting the patient profile if there is any appointment, chart, or billing data present on the profile.
To delete the patient, start by heading into your Patients tab and choose your desired patient, scroll down, click the drop down button beside edit, and hit Delete Patient.
And just like that, the patient has been deleted!
If the profile cannot be deleted, and you do not want to merge it into another profile, you also have the option to mark the profile as discharged (inactive). These patient profiles will be removed from your “Active” list when you’re running your Patient List report, and will also be removed from the Unscheduled Visit report.
This can be done from the Patient Profile by selecting Edit / Settings and scrolling down to find the Discharged option.
What About Test Profiles?
Although it might be tempting to create a test profile, deleting this patient profile can get complicated if there is any data associated with the profile (think of all those fake appointments!)
Not to worry though! We also have a demo version of Jane you can play around with if you’d like to do some testing and not have it affect the data in your account. For access to this demo site, feel free to reach out to contact us at [email protected] or give us a call at +1 844-310-JANE (5263)— and test away!