Staff Access Level: Full Access
Jane Plan: All plans
Add-on Required: Yes β AI Scribe Free (5 notes/month at no cost) or AI Scribe Unlimited (unlimited notes for $15/Β£15 per month per practitioner, pricing varies by region)
Geography: πΊπΈ US, π¨π¦ CA, π¬π§ UK & more. See Where is AI Scribe Available? for the full list and pricing.
To set a clinic-wide recording deletion policy, follow these steps. Once saved, the policy applies to all recordings by all practitioners at the clinic.
- Staff with Full Access can go to Settings > AI Scribe.
- Scroll down to the Recording Deletion Policy section.
- Select one of the following options:
- Keep indefinitely: recordings are kept until manually deleted
- Delete immediately after successful generation: recordings are deleted as soon as a chart draft is successfully generated
- Delete after a set number of days: recordings are deleted after a specified number of days
- Click Save.
What to Expect
The policy applies immediately to all recordings by all practitioners at the clinic. If youβve just enabled AI Scribe, the deletion policy defaults to deleting files immediately after successful generation.
Important Notes
- The deletion policy applies clinic-wide. Individual practitioners cannot override it.
- A recording started from the Chart tab that hasn't been connected to a chart entry yet is not subject to your deletion policy. It stays saved until a summary is generated, even if your policy is set to delete recordings immediately. Once a summary is generated, your deletion policy applies as usual.
- When a recording is deleted, it is immediately removed from the clinic account and is no longer accessible. A copy remains in Jane's secure backup servers and is permanently deleted after one week.
- Practitioners can still delete individual recordings manually at any time, regardless of the clinic-wide policy. See our guide on AI Scribe: Managing Recordings for more details.