Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Staff Access Levels

Do you need different privacy settings for your staff members? Maybe some staff only need to see their own schedule and clients, while others need full access?

Jane offers you several ways to set, change, and limit staff permissions and privacy settings so staff members only see what they need to see. Note that only a Full Access user or Account Owner can update the privacy level of another staff member.

First, Open Staff Profile

Access Staff Profiles through the Staff Tab.

Use the “New Staff Member” button below the staff list to create a new profile, if necessary.

If you’re not creating a new profile, access Staff Profiles through the Staff Tab and then click on the staff member’s name.

Next, click “Edit/Settings” at the top OR “Edit” in the bottom right corner (both buttons do the same thing):

These buttons will open the Edit Staff Member screen:

Account Level

When you set up your staff members for the first time, a Full Access user or Account Owner can update the privacy level of a staff member in that profile’s “Permissions and Commissions” Area.

And then to the Role Dropdown.

Let’s talk about what the different levels mean.

1. No Access

This is the lowest level of access and would make sense for a staff member or practitioner who has left your clinic. When set to “No Access”, this staff member will have absolutely no way to access the administrative side of Jane, although they will still be able to book in as a patient using the Online Booking if you have that available to your patients.

2. Practitioner (Limited)

This is the most basic access level. Setting someone to Practitioner/Limited means they can only view their own schedule and their own clients. They are limited to viewing only clients they’ve had past appointments with or have a future appointment with. All client profiles will only show appointments and invoices belonging to that therapist. Providers with this role will not be able to see the Messages tab within the patient profile as this may contain appointment information pertaining to other staff members at the clinic.

There’s no access to the Settings Tab or to the Permissions and Commissions. If the practitioner would like to see if a message was delivered to a patient, they can use the History and Status section on the appointment panel:

3. Practitioner / Front Desk and Practitioner / Front Desk (All locations)

At this level there are a number of areas of Jane that aren’t accessible. This is the most common access level for Practitioners or Therapists.

There’s no access to any clinic-wide Settings. So when logged in at this level, this is what you’d see:

This level of access also has no access to Permissions and Commissions on their own profile and cannot edit other staff members in any way.

Here’s what the Staff Profiles look like to someone logged in at this level:

Reports and patient billing history only populate for the staff member’s own billing information. Here’s an example from the Sales Report:

You can see that the filter is set to All Staff, but only the Invoices for this practitioner will appear.

It’s important to note the Practitioner / Front Desk level of access can view the full Schedule of other practitioners in their listed locations, as well as book appointments for those practitioners. As this role has some front desk capabilities, staff members with this role can also help manage a patient’s current bookings at any location from within the patient’s profile.

The only difference for the Practitioner / Front Desk (All Locations) role is that staff members with this role can see the full Schedule and book appointments at locations they are not listed at. The regular Practitioner / Front Desk role cannot see the Schedule of locations they’re not listed at, and therefore can’t book appointments at those locations.

4. Front Desk

This level is nearly identical to the Practitioner access levels: there’s no access to settings or staff permissions, and reports only populate for their own billing info. This is the most common access level for reception.

In addition to Practitioner abilities, the Front Desk can also run the Transaction report so these staff members can handle the end-of-day procedures.

It’s important to note that Front Desk staff members are not limited by locations. This level of access can see the Schedule of all locations as well as book and manage appointments for staff in any location.

5. Administrative Staff/All Billing

This is the next level of access and tends to be the one given to most front desk staff so that they can work with Cash-Outs and other daily reconciliations.

While they still do not have access to the complete Settings tab, they do get partial access for more administrative duties.

Here’s what the Settings area looks like when logged in at this level:

You can see that they have access to all location Schedules, Treatments, Billing Codes, Products, Teleplan Info (if you’re in BC), and some other billing-related settings. This allows Administrative Staff to manage the day-to-day running of the clinic.

They also will have full access to all Billing Info on reports such as the Transaction report which is used to reconcile payments at the end of the day, and the Sales report to review all invoices created that day.

6. Full Access

The highest level of access, Full Access will allow you to manage all settings and preferences for the account as well as make any needed billing corrections. The Account Owner will always have Full Access (plus a little extra!) but can give this access to other staff members as needed, like a trusted office manager or administrator.

Other Restrictions

There’s also a few other more granular restrictions you can place on Staff Profiles.

1. Chart Access

This will completely disable the Staff from accessing any charts created by other staff members. You might consider removing the Chart Access permission for an admin, a bookkeeper, or other non-clinical staff who have no reason to work with charts.

2. Manage Shifts

Make the Shift button disappear - staff won’t be able to add, delete or modify shifts on the Schedule.

3. Access Billing

The Staff member will lose the Billing tab all together. Keep in mind that if you disable Billing on a Staff Member’s profile they will not be able to receive payment from patients. They will have no financial access at all.

Note: All active staff members with Billing access will be able to receive, edit, and delete payments according to the scope of their permission level until end of day. After that, only staff members with Full Access permissions will be able to edit or delete a payment.

We hope that helps you understand the different access levels in Jane.

As always, let us know if you have questions!

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.