Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Jane to Jane Chart Transfer (Data Transfers) - FAQs

Data Transfers are a way in which you can copy your charting data to another Jane account. Here are the most Frequently Asked Questions that we see that will hopefully help you on your journey!

If you’re ready for a transfer, you can also see the Jane to Jane Transfer guide.

What gets transferred in a Jane to Jane Transfer?

This is probably the most common question that we get, and it’s a good one!

During the Data Transfer process, a practitioner’s charts will be copied to a new Jane account. No other data such as appointments, insurance policies, or anything else are transferred along with the charts. That being said, for the accuracy or retaining healthcare records, patient profiles will be created with limited demographics for identification purposes in the new account should they not be present already.

The account owner of the account you’re transferring out of selects whether to transfer your charts including Administratively Authored Charts as well as Intake Forms Filled Inside of Jane for your patients.

To get full patient demographics and your past & upcoming appointments, you’ll need to provide us with a Patient List and Appointments file.

Why is the Account Owner the only one that can start the process?

Per your local regulatory body, you could very well be responsible for your charts and files that you create for your patients.

In Jane’s eyes, there is only one Account Owner who owns the data and that is the staff member that holds the Account Owner Badge in the staff profile.

It is completely up to the current account holder as to whether you release that data to your practitioner who is leaving, and the legality and details of chart ownership is something that differs widely by discipline, clinic, country and contract.

Ensuring that everyone is on the same page when data is transferred is of top priority, so that informs our procedure below.

Don’t my patients need to sign a release to transfer their data somewhere else?

That could very well be the case, and that is up to your discretion as a practitioner to contact your regulatory body to find out the exact stipulations of recordkeeping for your discipline in your area and how you are required to handle the moving of patient documents when you are leaving a clinic.

How long does a Jane to Jane Transfer take?

This can be done at any time! Once the Source Account Owner starts the process, the Practitioner signs and directs the charts to the new account, and finally the Destination Account Owner signs the authorization as well, your charts will start to transfer automatically.

Should you be providing extra files in a regular import, such as appointments, insurance policies, or others, these will be imported on the day you’ve scheduled the import to occur.

Why can’t you transfer everything over for me?

You will need to obtain the patient list and appointment reports from the source clinic.

This is required as it gives us confirmation on which data to transfer and also authority from the source clinic owner. You may need to speak to the account owner directly to have this completed.

They can then provide those files directly to you, at which time you can upload them to your import area that’s been scheduled in the new account.

If you have any further questions about any of this please don’t hesitate to contact us and we’d be happy to help you!