Question
Can I anonymize or de-identify a patient profile instead of deleting it entirely?
Answer
Yes. Instead of deleting a patient profile, you can anonymize or de-identify it by editing or removing the data in the patient profile fields such as name, contact information, and other identifying details.
This is often the right approach when a patient profile has Jane Payments transactions on it so that you can maintain the transaction history for tax-reporting purposes.
📣 Heads up: Jane Payments transactions cannot be deleted as they are a record of payments processed through Jane and are required for financial reporting purposes. In these cases, anonymizing the profile is the recommended approach.
Supporting Information
You can also remove individual pieces of data, such as chart entries, before or after anonymizing the profile fields.
Once the profile is anonymized, you can mark the patient as discharged or archived if needed.