Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Using Automatic Wait List Notifications

If you’re looking for more on Jane’s Wait List features, including using Wait List Notifications without automatic notifications, you can hop on to this page!


If you’re hoping to use Jane’s Automatic Wait List Notifications, you’re in the right place! Let’s take a look. 👀

Alright, now that we’re all set up, let’s talk about how you can use automatic Wait List Notifications to make your day a whole lot easier!

As mentioned in the Set Up guide, when an appointment is cancelled (administratively or by a client on your Online Booking site), deleted, or moved, Jane will scan your Wait List and hold that spot for any clients whose preferences/availability fit within that appointment time.


When you click on the black appointment block (which we refer to as your Wait List cue), the Wait List Notification panel will slide out and you’ll be able to:

1: ⏲️ Check the countdown! It starts as soon as an appointment is cancelled, deleted, or moved and will show:

  • The admin buffer time remaining before Jane sends an automatic notification
  • If an automatic notification has been sent, or if you send one early by clicking Send Notification Now, it will show how long your Wait List clients have left in their Exclusive Access period before the spot is released and can be booked by anyone

Admin Buffer Time:

  • If the appointment starts in less than 24 hours, Jane will give you 15 minutes of admin buffer time before sending a notification
  • If the appointment starts in more than 24 hours, Jane will give you 2 hours of admin buffer time before sending a notification

2: 🚀 Click Send Notification(s) Now to let all those clients know there’s an opening available.

  • If you’d like to send a notification earlier than Jane’s scheduled automatic send time, you can override that by clicking Send Notification(s) Now.

3: 🕊️ Cancel Notifications and Release the spot so anyone can book into it.

  • If a notification hasn’t been automatically sent yet, you can choose to Cancel Notification(s) and Release the Spot.
  • If a notification has been sent, you can choose to release the spot before the Exclusive Access period is over by clicking Release Time Slot

4: 👀 See which of your Wait List client’s fit into that spot based on their appointment preferences and availability. This is the list of clients that Jane will be sending a notification to!

  • Jane will also show you their contact info and give you the option to hop directly into their profile to see more about them (including their last appointment or any notes on their profile!)
  • When you click Expand, Jane will show you the details of their Wait List Request

5: 📅 Book in a specific Wait List client by clicking Book Appointment under their name.

  • When clicked, Jane will swap the Wait List cue for this client’s appointment!
  • If the appointment you book is shorter than the original appointment, and there are more clients on the Wait List with requests that will fit into the remaining time, Jane will create a new Wait List cue

When the spot is released, either by you or automatically when the countdown ends, anyone can book into that spot as they normally would (administratively or through the Online Booking site).

To see what notifications will look like for your clients, you can check out our guide Wait List Notifications: Your Client’s Experience.


More questions? Need some troubleshooting help? Want to see how this will look for your clients? Find the answers you need in our Wait List hub!

If you’d like to chat with us about how this feature could work best for you, please don’t hesitate to reach out. 💙