Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Memberships FAQs

Jump to a Section

 

Membership Setup


Can a product be covered as part of a Membership?

Not at this time. Only treatments and classes can be listed as eligible items as part of a Membership or Package.

Can I collect payment automatically without setting up a Membership?

No. In order to create a recurring invoice or collect payment automatically, you’ll first need to set up a Membership.

Is it possible to have an ongoing membership without expiry?

Not at this time. All packages have an expiry date and once expired, a new membership can be sold to start a new term.

 

Selling a Membership


Where can I sell a Membership to a client?

A membership can be sold to a patient/ client by clicking New Purchase > New Membership from their Profile > Billing > Packages & Memberships area.

Can my clients buy a membership online?

Selling a membership to a patient/ client is an administrative-only feature at this time.

What’s the difference between Manual and Automatic payments?

The Payment Processing method will determine how the upcoming billing cycles of the membership will be paid. In both cases, invoices will be generated according to the billing schedule.

With Manual Payments, a clinic staff member will need to Receive a Payment to indicate how the invoice was paid— just as you would with a regular appointment or product sale. Users with Jane Payments will have access to Automatic Payments. When the next billing cycle is generated, a designated card on file will be automatically processed as payment.

Can I set up Automatic (Recurring) Payments for a membership if I am not using Jane Payments.

No. Automatic (recurring) payments is only available via the Jane Payments integration at this time.

 

Membership Management


What is the difference between deleting and cancelling a Membership?

Deleting a membership is the best course of action if a membership was invoiced out of error. Otherwise, cancelling a membership will terminate any scheduled billing cycles and payments before the contract end date. If you’d like to learn more, we actually have an entire guide document dedicated to this specific question.

Can a patient cancel their own Membership?

At this time, a patient is unable to cancel their membership themselves via the patient portal. A clinic staff member will be able to cancel the membership administratively on their behalf.

I want to cancel a membership, but it’s only showing me the option to delete.

Jane will show the option to delete a membership if all of the invoiced billing cycles are unpaid. If deleting is the preferred action (over cancelling), you’ll want to unapply any payments that have been applied towards the active billing cycles.

I made a mistake and deleted/cancelled a membership by accident, can I undo this?

It is not possible to reverse a membership cancellation or deletion at this time. We recommend selling another instance of the same membership to your client.

Can a patient pause their Membership and resume it at a later date?

Not at this time. A membership cannot be paused, however, you are able to cancel the membership and begin a new one at a later date, if needed. We recognize that there are occasionally circumstances where a patient may need to pause their membership, such as going through a major life event or financial hardship. We hope to add the ability to pause a membership in future iterations of this feature!

Will unused services in a membership cycle rollover to the next billing cycle?

No, at this time, unused redemptions within the current billing cycle will not rollover.


We often find that once we release a feature, as big as something like Memberships, there is an opportunity to elevate the feature to fit your needs (even more!). So, we’d love it if you’d send us an email at [email protected] to share your feedback so that we can learn what you like (and what you would like to see) as we continue planning for the future. 🙏 Or, join the conversation in our community group on Facebook.