Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Online Appointments for Groups FAQ

Here are some frequently asked questions and answers about Jane’s Online Appointments for Groups feature. Feel free to scroll through the questions, or click on one of the questions below:

If you don’t see what you’re looking for here, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with us.


Why does the feature cost $15 per practitioner?

Great question! In 2020, we built the original 1:1 Online Appointments feature with the goal of getting our clinics online as quickly as possible, to help them stay open, and stay connected with their clients. We assured you this value would always be a part of your Jane subscription and our 1:1 Online Appointments will continue to be free.

We wanted to make sure that Online Appointments for Groups was built differently, competitively valuable, and competitively priced. This means:

  • We priced ourselves more affordably than standalone telehealth solutions.
  • Sessions have unlimited time lengths, and you have unlimited sessions a month, so you have total flexibility to work with your clients how you want.
  • We built in essential security measures to meet compliance standards (HIPAA, PIPEDA, and GDPR-compliant).
  • We never lock you into a long-term contract, and you can opt in or out of Group Online Appointments at any time.
  • Your clients don’t need to download or install additional apps or software.

💡 Please note: There are no discounts available for Online Appointments for Groups. This applies to our education accounts, bursary recipients, and new practice helper rate accounts.


What happens if I sign up or cancel partway through the month?

If you sign up for Online Appointments for Groups partway through the month, your $15 monthly charge will be prorated. If you change your mind and cancel partway through the month, you will be credited for the remainder of the month you paid for.


Will the price of 1:1 Online Appointments change?

For the foreseeable future, no, as this is part of our original telehealth story.


Is Online Appointments for Groups secure?

This is a great question, and the short answer is yes. Many important factors were taken into consideration when creating Online Appointments for Groups, and looking at security requirements was the primary one.

With this in mind, we feel confident in providing you with a best-in-class telehealth experience, as it meets all your key industry requirements:

  • HIPAA-compliant
  • PIPEDA/PHIPA-compliant
  • GDPR-compliant
  • No BAA is needed
  • Multi-layer security with 128-bit and 256-bit AES-GCM encryption
  • We do not record or have access to calls
  • Data is not stored locally but only managed in transit for your security

You can learn more about Online Appointment Privacy & Security here.


Can I use Online Appointments for Groups for team meetings or clinic communication?

No — this feature is not currently compatible with internal meetings, as it was designed primarily with related clients (e.g. couples and family therapy sessions) in mind. If you’re looking to run internal meetings through Jane you’re welcome to add your vote and feedback to this feature request.


Can two practitioners join a Group Online Appointment?

Currently, this feature only allows one practitioner to join a call with up to 12 related clients since it was designed as a solution to host couples and family therapy sessions. We’re constantly improving and would love to know if having multiple practitioners on a call is something that you’re looking for. You can start by adding your vote and feedback to this feature request.


Can this feature be used to meet with a group of unrelated clients? For example, an online fitness class or group therapy?

No — Online Appointments for Groups cannot currently be used to meet with a group of unrelated clients who do not know each other. This is a functionality that the team is actively exploring, and if this would make the feature more helpful to you, share your feedback here.


Do all practitioners in a clinic need to enable the feature if only one needs it?

No — only practitioners who will be offering Online Appointments for Groups need to enable it.


My Apple device has a feature that shows emojis onscreen during video calls if I make hand gestures (like a thumbs up or peace sign). Can I turn this off?

Great question! If you’re using an iPhone, iPad, or mac with iOS 17 or macOS Sonoma installed, then Apple’s Reactions feature is enabled on your device by default. This isn’t a Jane feature so it needs to be disabled on your device. You’ll need to disable the feature on each device you use for video calls and if your client is using an Apple device with iOS 17 and macOS Sonoma installed, they’ll need to disable Reactions on their device as well.

On Mac:

  1. Check to see if you’re running iOS 17 or macOS Sonoma. If you aren’t, then you don’t need to complete the other steps until you’ve updated your device.

  2. To disable Reactions, you need your camera to be in use. A simple way to do this is to open FaceTime and start a video call.

  3. Click the Video button in the menu bar, and then click Reactions.

On iPhone/iPad:

  1. Check to see if you’re running iOS 17 or macOS Sonoma. If you aren’t, then you don’t need to complete the other steps until you’ve updated your device.

  2. To disable Reactions, you need your camera to be in use. A simple way to do this is to open FaceTime and start a video call.

  3. After that, swipe down from the top right corner of the screen to bring up the Control Center. (Note that if you have an iPhone/iPad with the Home Button, you will need to double-press the Home button to show the Control Center).

  4. Now, tap on Video Effects

  1. Finally, tap on the Reactions button to turn it off.

The button should look like this once it’s turned off:


How do I turn on a virtual background during an online appointment?

To turn on a virtual background (which acts as a greenscreen) or blur your background, you’ll first want to make sure that your client has joined the online session.

From there, you’ll click on the arrow to the top right of the Start Video button and from the dropdown menu, select Virtual Backgrounds.

Next, you’ll have a couple of options if you’d like to select a virtual background or if you’d just like to Blur your background:

It’s important to note that this feature is only available to clinics using online appointments for groups at the moment.

Additional resources:

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.