Jane's Guide Here's all the help you need to use Jane.

Jane to Jane Transfer - FAQs

Jane to Jane transfers are when we at Jane transfer your charting data from one account to another. Here are the most Frequently Asked Questions that we see that will hopefully help you on your journey!

If you’re ready for a transfer, you can also see Jane to Jane Transfer: A Detailed Guide.

What gets transferred in a Jane to Jane Transfer?

This is probably the most common question that we get, and it’s a good one!

The only thing the Jane team transfers on our end is your charting data as a practitioner. This is any chart that you’ve authored in an account.

The account owner of the account you’re transferring out of selects whether we can transfer your charts including Administratively Authored Charts as well as Intake Forms Filled Inside of Jane for your patients.

To get full patient demographics and your past & upcoming appointments, you’ll need to provide us with a Patient List and Appointments file.

Why does the account owner need to sign off on the transfer if they’re my files?

Per your local regulatory body, you could very well be responsible for your charts and files that you create for your patients.

In Jane’s eyes, there is only one Account Owner who owns the data and that is the staff member that holds the Account Owner Badge in the staff profile.

It is completely up to the current account holder as to whether you release that data to your practitioner who is leaving, and the legality and details of chart ownership is something that differs widely by discipline, clinic, country and contract.

Ensuring that everyone is on the same page when data is transferred is of top priority, so that informs our procedure below.

Don’t my patients need to sign a release to transfer their data somewhere else?

That could very well be the case, and that is up to your discretion as a practitioner to contact your regulatory body to find out the exact stipulations of recordkeeping for your discipline in your area and how you are required to handle the moving of patient documents when you are leaving a clinic.

How long does a Jane to Jane Transfer take?

As long as the required authorization form has been signed and any files you wish to be imported are provided within a scheduled import in your account, we can complete that for you.

Why can’t you transfer everything over for me?

You will need to obtain the patient list and appointment reports from the source clinic.

This is required as it gives us confirmation on which data to transfer and also authority from the source clinic owner. You may need to speak to the account owner directly to have this completed.

They can then provide those files directly to you, at which time you can upload them to your import area that’s been scheduled in the new account.

If you have any further questions about any of this please don’t hesitate to contact us and we’d be happy to help you!